Monday Mundane Moment #1: Washing Dishes

When I’m frustrated it seems to do me well to wash dishes. I’ll scrub to the rhythm of an imaginary argument between myself and some poor opponent until the therapeutic motions calm me down. Then I allow myself to think of the most efficient and thorough way of making all of the plates and pans spotless. As I soap and stack, rinse and organize, I find myself also daydreaming about my future and other worlds. My creative gears start to turn and I’m in a whole different state than when I began washing.

I suppose cleaning in general is a great time to think through feelings and ponder ideas and desires. I’m glad this is so since I don’t believe I’ll ever escape cleaning -it is simply one of those things in life that must be done and done regularly.

What are your thoughts?

