Between the Sniffles

I woke up from a nap feeling very dehydrated indeed. I got sick again. My lips were hurting, eyes stinging, throat burning, and head throbbing. I was cold too even though I was snuggled under covers with my jacket on. But for all the world I did not want to get up to drink the water my body craved. For a while I didn’t budge.

Sometimes I dread my laziness. In my luxury I press my luck and I don’t take care of myself as I should. I suppose this is a form of taking life for granted even if I believe I am grateful. Now I’m glad that I’m sick because it reminds me that a life of worship is also a life of gratitude.

What are your thoughts?

