Sonnet: Day by Day

Here’s another one from high school… It seems I’ve written the most in 10th grade.

Day by Day

Day by day my heart must stay awake,
For when the time comes you will come get me,
As I’m wholly and fully yours to take,
Forever with you I desire to be.

Why must it be so difficult to wait?
Surrounded by hungry wolves is a lamb,
Among deceit, envy, distrust, and hate,
Impatient and Longing is what I am.

Oh! Night by night my soul seeks your coming,
Only ‘til then will I be satisfied,
Fulfilled and completed from my longing,
Since you, by the world I have been denied.

Yet as long as I’m on earth and alive,
You provide me with the strength to survive.

-Sammie Oh

What are your thoughts?

