Good Friday

Instead of a special sermon for our church’s Good Friday service, the congregation listened to and meditated on the scriptures that narrate the day Jesus Christ had the last supper with his disciples. He was betrayed by one of his own, falsely accused, beaten and mocked, crucified on the cross with a crown of thorns on his head. Written over his head was, “This is Jesus, King of the Jews.”

Of the many things that can be said about Jesus’s sacrifice and our deliverance, one thing I’ve gotten to reflect on today is forgiveness.

All the time I am learning to forgive and repent from my unforgiveness(amongst other things). I’m so grateful for how God’s mercy and grace in my life has allowed me to grow in grace as well. Yet, it is still not the easiest thing in the world. There are still some people that are harder for me to forgive than usual. It’s particularly difficult when the offender is not penitent or fails to change from his hurtful habits.

Sometimes a little thing by certain people can really tick me and I catch myself holding judgment and lacking in grace. Meanwhile, the blood of Jesus Christ offers freedom from my own wretchedness. I find having communion, Good Friday or not, is an important reminder for me to forgive, not by any special power of my own, as I have been forgiven. Forgiving and letting go frees me from the bondages of a bitter or grudging heart. It allows me to heal and restore broken relationships. Even if I get hurt again by the same person it’s better to give up this desire to be my own protector or the desire to take revenge.

Forgiving is a win-win situation! And so, it is my conclusion God is good.

 

One thought on “Good Friday

What are your thoughts?

