I like butts that glow in the dark…

That’s right, I have now added glow worms to my long and growing list of animal friends. But I’ll get to that in a bit.

Studying in Australia for a semester is already a huge scoop of blessings. On top of that, having an awesome host family(which I will hereon refer to as my KAF, short for “Kiwi-Australian Family”) practically quadruples it.

On account of my KAF’s awesomeness(sometimes indirectly), I’ve experienced and learned a whole bunch of new things just these past two days. Here are a few of my adventures:

1) It’s called Muzza’s Gourmet Pies and it’s where I enjoyed a most delicious steak and kidney meat pie. The last time I had a quality meat pie was from Battersea Pie Station in Covent Garden, London. I’ve never had any in the US though. Thanks KAF dad!

I don’t know that solitary man but clearly he does not feel sad because he’s eating a Muzza’s Gourmet pie.

2) I SAW GLOW WORMS. Admittedly, they were in a man-made tunnel cave, but still, there they were in the dark ceiling and walls, often in clusters, like drops of blue light sprinkled above me. Although I couldn’t see all the sticky silk traps(that’s how they attract prey) that hung beneath the glow worms I knew I was walking beneath and beside hundreds and thousands of them. Just FYI, like mayflies, the adult fly that emerges from the pupa of a glow worm don’t live that long -just long enough to mate and lay a couple hundred eggs.

I couldn’t take any pictures of the real thing because it would have disturbed the creatures so this’ll have to do instead:

KAF sister’s and my glow worm impersonation.

3) Bush Fires!! No worries, they were controlled bush fires started by burners set up in long rows parallel to the road. It was pretty cool to see so close. At one point I could feel the heat through the closed car window. The woody smoke billowed around our vehicle and above the gum trees, even coating a lake we drove past. 

4) A Natural Arch in Mt Tamborine made for a nice rainforest stroll. Especially when so much bad news surrounds us, from suicides, to hateful war crimes, and every other tragic story that we mourn over or evil we try to stand up against, it’s worth it to go out into nature and be refreshed. I wished I could actually climb down the rocks and peer into the water from up close, perhaps poking my toes into the pools to test the waters and get sprayed by the waterfalls. 

Looks a bit dry now though.
If it were a bit warmer and these railings weren’t in the way…

5) And what better way to end a Wednesday night list than a Bible study? Okay, so this is not one of my “new experiences” since ever. Last night’s Bible study speaker shared some important things about what it means to honor God and authority. But after the ‘official’ Bible study and stacks of junk food and Kirks Creamy Soda(which I’m not a huge fan of yet as it tastes like how I imagine baby wipes would taste like), I was enlightened on the term “fivefold minsitry” by our speaker. I won’t go into describing it all because, well, Google.

Anyway, I was aware of the roles and significance of Apostles, Prophets, Evangelists, Pastors, and Teachers, but I don’t remember ever having learned them in that structural framework and I definitely didn’t know about this mnemonic device with the hand:

(found via Google Images at http://www.apostle.org/lectures/ffm.htm).

*****

That’s all for now folks! 

What are your thoughts?

